As you will no doubt have seen, there’s a new-ish move in rugby where in the middle of a passage of open play, the ball carrier throws up a high pass, their teammates lift a pod (exactly same way as in a lineout) bring the lifted player down and create a maul. So, why is it happening and how should we referee it if it happens in front of us?
Here’s some examples of it:
Why is it happening?
Well, for now, it’s happening because it can, and it works. And it’s legal (keep reading…). No-one seriously appears to be suggesting it should be stopped. Despite social and media commentary, World Rugby haven’t made any moves to stop it and there haven’t been any formal clarifications asked or answered about it. None of the competitions/leagues where it’s happened appear to have said anything. The opponents involved don’t seem to have said anything.
It really is great to see innovation at play. At the moment, it’s being used as either a distraction technique to throw the defence off task, or as a somewhat elaborate way to setup a maul. That’s great if that’s a strong point for a team (sure the backs are delighted…) – and then mixed with point one, a way to ‘win’ a pen when that maul is pulled down.
Like most things in rugby, when it’s executed well, it’s works well! But, we think it’s unlikely to be tried very often. Why? Because, as explained below, it would pretty easy to get wrong and end up being penalised for it when it does.
When defence coaches start to put their minds to it, it would also be pretty easy to defend against and ‘win’ a penalty themselves.
What does the law say?
Let’s start at a lineout and work backwards (because there’s an element here which is the opposite of what can happen in this open play scenario.) In a lineout, it is illegal for the defenders to walk away/back off the line before the lineout is over – that’s offside, so a penalty offence. We’ll come back to this later! For kicks at goal, 8.14 says a team cant lift a pod/player to stop a conversion and same for 8.22 and 8.25 rules it out at a penalty.
But, in open play, it’s allowed – law 9.26 explicitly says so:

This has been the case for ages and used, without concern, at a kick off receipt, for example. No-one seems to have ever sought to stop that.
So what can go wrong in law?
As stated, if it’s executed well, and the defenders play their part, then it’s legal. Here’s how we think it’s legal, but also shows how it wouldn’t be if it goes wrong. These also give us our refereeing cues to look out for:
– It’s explicitly legal to lift a teammate in open play as long as they come down immediately (law 9.26 – see above).
– A lift isn’t a bind. The lifters aren’t bound to the ball carrier until they do actually then bind to the ball carrier. It’s usually when they bring the player back to ground and shift positions to bind onto ball carrier
(Law book Definition of binding: “Grasping another player’s body firmly between the shoulders and the hips with the whole arm in contact from hand to shoulder.”)
– It’s not obstruction if ball carrier is tacklable (“tacklers have access to the ball carrier” is a phrase we’ve heard more in last year or so since kick-chase obstruction became a focal area)
(Law Book Obstruction definition: “When a player attempting to play is illegally impeded and prevented from doing so.”)
– It’s not a flying wedge if there’s no movement before the ball carrier and pod make contact with defenders (see examples in the video)
(Law Book Definition: “An illegal type of attack, which usually happens near the try line, either from a penalty or free-kick or in open play. Team-mates pre-bind onto the ball-carrier in a wedge formation before engaging the opposition. Often one or more of these team-mates is in front of the ball-carrier.”)
– It’s not a multi-latched-onto ball carrier if an opponent gets involved as soon as player lands (what has happened every time we’ve seen it so far- see video)
How to defend it?
Most of those ‘legal’ elements are predicated on a defender getting to the ball carrier as soon as they land. It’s what’s happened every time it’s been seen so far. The involvement of a defender negates most of the possibilities for it to go wrong for the attacking team.
So, the best thing we can think of to defend this, would be to step off it (the opposite of what we said was allowed at lineout) and let the attack form up (multiple pre-latchers) or, just let it get moving (and so becomes obstruction/flying wedge). A defender could then come round the back of the pod and take the ball off the ball carrier. Obviously it’s a risk that the attacking team then don’t then do the things that would make it illegal (dont bind, and don’t obstruct).
So, as explained, it’s legal and risky to execute. But also easy (if risky) to defend. Definatley one we need to keep watching, and we’ll see how often it happens. Hopefully this helps you get your head around it before you see it happen on the field in front of you.
Let me know what you think – anything element missing? Let us know in the comments or email me at ref@rugbyreferee.net
This article has been written by Keith Lewis in a personal capacity as founder and editor of RugbyReferee.net. No endorsement of this should be assumed/implied for, or by, any governing body or union.
Thank-you for making time to provide this information.
Interesting analysis, Keith.
Thank you.