Barrett-Theron joins SA Rugby referees’ Premier Panel

Aimee Barrett-Theron has become the first female to earn selection to SA Rugby’s Premier Panel of referees. For the coming 2018 season, Barrett-Theron will be in contention to referee senior men’s matches after she was promoted to the top tier of South African match officials.  Also new to the top panel are Cwengile “JD” Jadezweni, Stuart Berry and AJ Jacobs.

Last year, Barrett-Theron (30), refereed the opening match of the Women’s Rugby World Cup in Ireland and the SA Rugby Under-20 Championship final in Welkom.

In addition to the four promotions, SA Rugby also announced that Jaco van Heerden has hung up his whistle to focus on his career as an advocate. The 34-year-old, who was on SA Rugby’s Premier Panel since 2014, refereed three Tests, 20 Vodacom Super Rugby and 34 Currie Cup matches, including the 2017 First Division final and the Premier Division semi-finals in 2014 and 2015.  The experienced Lourens van der Merwe and Pro Legoete have both chosen to continue their careers as TMOs.

Banks Yantolo, SA Rugby’s Referee Manager, said the four referees promoted to the Premier Panel had earned their stripes and have what it takes to succeed at the top. “Aimee, ‘JD’ and AJ have all delivered on the promise they’ve shown over the last couple of years, while Stuart has been around for a while and has performed at a consistently high level in recent times.

“All the referees on our Premier Panel have Test experience, and they are wonderful ambassadors to South African rugby wherever in the world they go.

Yantolo also went on to discuss the lower panels, all of which sees the promotion of a  host of new officials. “I am also excited about the quality of match officials on our lower panels – many of these referees have the potential to make it all the way to the top.

“We know the National A Panel, as our next tier, will be pushing hard to get onto the Premier Panel, while it is very encouraging to welcome eight new inclusions onto the National B Panel from our Academy Squad. We are looking forward to an awesome season in 2018.”

SA Rugby Referee Panels for 2018

Premier Panel

Quinton Immelman, Jaco Peyper, Rasta Rasivhenge, Egon Seconds, Marius van der Westhuizen, Stuart Berry, AJ Jacobs, Cwengile Jadezweni, Aimee Barrett-Theron.

National A Panel

Ben Crouse, Stephan Geldenhuys, Ruhan Meiring, Paul Mente, Vusi Msibi, Jaco Pretorius, Archie Sehlako.

National B Panel

Jaco Kotze, Pieter Maritz, Mpho Matsaung, Sindile Ngcese, Christopher Allison, Johre Botha, Griffin Colby, Jabian Jeftha, Phumzile Mbewu, Naka Bulelani, Eduan Nel, Divan Uys, Rodney Boneparte, Ricus van der Hoven.

Women’s Panel

Siyanda Ketse, Maria Mabote, Le-Ann MacClune, Lusanda Mtiya, Ashleigh Murray, Bulela Qwane, Cameron Dyers.

Sevens Panel

Christopher Allison, Aimee Barrett-Theron, Johre Botha, Griffin Colby, Ben Crouse, Morne Ferreira, Rasta Rasivhenge.

TMO Panel

Christie du Preez, Johan Greeff, Marius Jonker, Joey Klaaste-Salmans, Shaun Veldsman, Willie Vos, JJ Wagner, Lourens van der Merwe, Pro Legoete.


Banks Yantolo, Eugene Daniels, Dennis Immelman, Mark Lawrence, Balie Swart, Deon van Blommestein.

National Performance Reviewers

Jacques Hugo, Dennis Immelman, Thuso Mngqibisa, Willie Roos, Johann Alberts, Willie Hess, Dawie Oberholzer, Arthur Southgate.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.