New Year weekend referee appointments

David Wilkinson Pro 14 Rugby referee

With many still recovering from Christmas festivities, our N Hem match officials are all gearing up for a New Year rugby feast. Another round of local(ish) derbies in the Pro14 mean again that only the officials really need travel. As the two Italian sides meet, David Wilkinson travels to lead his Irish team of 4 – hoping to get back in time for their own New Year celebrations. George Clancy will head over the Irish Sea to referee Cardiff v Scarlets while Ben Whitehouse heads the opposite direction to look after the Leinster v Connacht fixture.

In England, the experienced JP Doyle clocks up Premiership appearance 143 as he oversees the feature match as Harlequins take on Northampton at Twickenham’s main stadium. At the other end of the experience scale, Christophe Ridley and Andrew Jackson are back in the middle, as they referee Saracens v Worcester and Gloucester v Sale, respectively.

On behalf of the team, may we wish you a calm and peaceful 2018! Enjoy your New Year’s Eve celebrations, in whatever form they may take!



Guinness Pro14 – round 12

Zebre Rugby v Benetton Rugby
Referee: David Wilkinson (IRFU, 55th competition game)
ARs: Mark Patton (IRFU) & John Erskine (IRFU)
TMO: Brian MacNiece (IRFU)

Glasgow Warriors v Edinburgh
Referee: Mike Adamson (SRU, 17th competition game)
ARs: Sam Grove-White (SRU) & Keith Allen (SRU)
TMO: Neil Patterson (SRU)

Cardiff Blues v Scarlets
Referee: George Clancy (IRFU, 95th competition game)
ARs: Ian Davies (WRU) & Adam Jones (WRU)
TMO: Sean Brickell (WRU)

Dragons v Ospreys
Referee: Dan Jones (WRU, 13th competition game)
ARs: Craig Evans (WRU) & Mike English (WRU)
TMO: Neil Hennessey (WRU)

Leinster Rugby v Connacht Rugby
Referee: Ben Whitehouse (WRU, 40th competition game)
ARs: Frank Murphy (IRFU) & Eddie Hogan-O’Connell (IRFU)
TMO: Peter Fitzgibbon (IRFU)

Ulster Rugby v Munster Rugby
Referee: Sean Gallagher (IRFU, 8th competition game)
ARs: Nigel Correll (IRFU) & Paul Haycock (IRFU)
TMO: Kevin Beggs (IRFU)


Aviva Premiership – Round 14

Bath Rugby v Wasps
Referee: Luke Pearce
Assistant referees: Hamish Smales & Adam Leal
TMO: David Rose

Saracens v Worcester Warriors
Referee: Christophe Ridley
Assistant referees: Simon McConnell & Phil Watters
TMO: Keith Lewis

Gloucester Rugby v Sale Sharks
Referee: Andrew Jackson
Assistant referees: Jack Makepeace & Jonathan Healy
TMO: Sean Davey

London Irish v Newcastle Falcons
Referee: Tom Foley
Assistant referees: Dean Richards & Wayne Falla
TMO: David Sainsbury

Harlequins v Northampton Saints (Played at Twickenham)
Referee: JP Doyle
Assistant referees: Paul Dix & Nigel Carrick
TMO: Graham Hughes

Exeter Chiefs v Leicester Tigers
Referee: Craig Maxwell-Keys
Assistant referees: Anthony Woodthorpe & Luke Pearce
TMO: Geoff Warren


Greene King RFU Championship

Nottingham v London Scottish
Referee: Karl Dickson
ARs: Darryl Chapman & Greg Garner

Doncaster Knights v Yorkshire Carnegie
Referee: Greg Macdonald
ARs: Steve Lee & Tim Wigglesworth
TMO: Trevor Fisher

Hartpury College v Rotherham Titans
Referee: John Meredith
ARs: Brian Ravenhill & Nick Marshall

Bedford Blues v Ealing Trailfinders
Referee: Simon Harding
ARs: Lionel Spooner & Ian Bibey

Richmond v Bristol Rugby
Referee: Adam Leal
ARs: Robert Warburton & Bill Burton

Cornish Pirates v Jersey Reds
Referee: Mike Hudson
ARs: Paul Burton & Ian Pengelly


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.