Autumn international, Anglo-Welsh Cup and Australian NPC Final referees

Nic Berry referee
CHRISTCHURCH, NEW ZEALAND - APRIL 14: (Photo by Dianne Manson/Getty Images for SUNWOLVES)

A frenetic weekend of rugby is on offer again as the Autumn international series kicks off in earnest.  Relatively new names make their step up to top tier rugby, with the likes of Australian Nic Berry (pictured) and Marius van der Westhuizen (SA) taking the whistle.  There are also some new names in the AR camps and the TMO trucks as World Rugby starts to build up towards a pool of officials who will officiate the 2019 Rugby World Cup.  All the World Rugby appointments are on our Google Calendar which you can subscribe to via our appointments page.

In the domestic game, it’s the National Rugby Championship final in Australia, with Will Houston being selected to officiate the match in Canberra. In the Anglo-Welsh Cup, England’s Karl Dickson continues to make steady progress in his first season as a professional referee, having stepped across from a playing career for Harlequins. He will be in Llanello overseeing Scarlets v Exeter Chiefs.

Good luck to all out there whistling this weekend!




England v Argentina 
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa)
ARs: Nigel Owens (Wales) & Dan Jones (Wales)
TMO: Olly Hodges (Ireland)

France v New Zealand
Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
ARs: Matthew Carley (England) & Tom Foley (England)
TMO: Rowan Kitt (England)

Ireland v South Africa 
Referee: Ben O’Keeffe (New Zealand)
ARs: Wayne Barnes (England) & Ian Davies (Wales)
TMO: David Grashoff (England)

Wales v Australia
Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
ARs: Jaco Peyper (South Africa) & Ian Tempest (England)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

Scotland v Samoa
Referee: Nic Berry (Australia)
ARs: Paul Williams (New Zealand) & George Clancy (Ireland)
TMO: Simon McDowell (Ireland)

Italy v Fiji  (in Catania)
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
ARs: Brendon Pickerill (New Zealand) & Pierre Brousset (France)
TMO: Neil Paterson (Scotland)

Germany v Brazil (in Leipzig)
Referee: David Wilkinson (Ireland)
ARs: Nigel Correll (Ireland) & Oisin Quinn (Ireland)

Georgia v Canada
Referee: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)
ARs: Alex Ruiz (France) & Craig Evans (Wales)
TMO: Neil Hennessy (Wales)

French Barbarians v Maori All Blacks (in Bordeaux)
Referee: Shuhei Kubo (Japan)

Barbarians v Tonga (at Thomond Park, Limerick)
Referee: Frank Murphy (Ireland)
ARs: Sean Gallagher (Ireland) & Joy Neville (Ireland)


Hong Kong Cup of Nations

Kenya v Chile 
Referee: Maxime Burlet (Belgium)
ARs: Stephen Copeman (Hong Kong) & Patrick Kwok (Hong Kong)

Hong Kong v Russia
Referee: Federico Anselmi (Argentina)
ARs: Stephen Copeman (Hong Kong) & Tim Baker (Hong Kong)


Women’s Internationals

Spain v France (in Guadalajara)
Referee: Hollie Davidson (Scotland)

Women’s Barbarians v Munster Women (Thomond Park, Limerick)
Referee: Mike Scanlon (Ireland)
ARs: John Adams (Ireland) & Katie Kilbane (Ireland)

Wales Women v UK Armed Forces Women
Referee: Jason Bessant (Wales)
ARs: Francesca Martin (Wales) & Bianca Zietsman (Wales)

Anglo-Welsh Cup

Ospreys v Wasps
Referee: Christophe Ridley (England)
ARs: Morgan Whitehead (Wales) & Jamie Morgan (Wales)

Bath v Leicester Tigers
Referee: Greg Macdonald (England)
ARs: Clare Daniels (England) & Lionel Spooner (England)
TMO: Geoff Warren (England)

Sale Sharks v Saracens
Referee: Rhys Thomas (Wales)
ARs: Jonathan Healy (England) & Phil Watters (England)

Gloucester v London Irish
Referee: Jack Makepeace (England)
ARs: Greg D Garner (England) & Sara Cox (England)

Northampton Saints v Newport Gwent Dragons
Referee: Mike English (Wales)
ARs: Fergus Kirby (England) & Paul Burton (England)

Newcastle Falcons v Cardiff Blues
Referee: Anthony Woodthorpe (England)
ARs: Hamish Smales (England) & Steve Lee (England)

Harlequins v Worcester Warriors 
Referee: Adam Jones (Wales)
ARs: Nigel Carrick (England) & Michael Hudson (England)

Scarlets v Exeter Chiefs 
Referee: Karl Dickson (England)
ARs: Wayne Davies (Wales) & Chris Oliver (Wales)
TMO: Trevor Fisher (England)


Australia – National Rugby Championship Final

Canberra Vikings v Queensland Country
Referee: William Houston
ARs: Damon Murphy, Jordan Way
TMO: Ian Smith