European rugby referee appointments 12-15 October

As Brexit negotiations stalled this week, the rugby community will aim to carry on regardless as the European bandwagon begins for another season.

The European Champions and Challenge Cup leads the way, although there are also some noteworthy referee appointments in the Rugby Europe fixtures too.  Up in Helsinki, Alhambra Neivas (pictured) becomes the first female referee to whistle a European international men’s fixture when she oversees Finland v Norway. It’s not the first time a female referee has been appointed to a men’s international. Dana Teagarden was most unlucky back in 2010, when having been appointed by the IRB (as was) to referee the Netherlands v Hong Kong, the game was cancelled after heavy snow.  Joy Neville be following up Alhambra’s success when she referees Norway v Denmark in a few weeks.

In the Champions Cup, the all-England clash between Northampton Saints and Saracens will be overseen by French referee Pascal Gauzère. Stepping up into the Champions Cup, Scotland’s Mike Adamson will referee the Bath v Treviso tie up. He’ll have the vastly-experienced Nigel Owens with him on the side for support and guidance if needed.

Good luck to Alhambra in Norway and to all the match officials on duty this weekend. 

Rugby Europe

Finland v Norway
Referee: Alhambra Nievas (Spain)

Sweden v Hungary
Referee: Philippe Lenne (Belgium)

Denmark v Luxembourg
Referee: Rami Aro (Sweden)


Champions Cup, Round 1

Ulster v Wasps
Referee: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)
ARs: Rhys Thomas (Wales) & Wayne Davies (Wales)
TMO: Jon Mason (Wales)

Leinster v Montpellier
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
ARs: JP Doyle (England) & Paul Dix (England)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

Racing 92 v Leicester Tigers
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
ARs: Stuart Gaffikin (Ireland) & Paul Haycock (Ireland)
TMO: Simon McDowell (Ireland)

Harlequins v La Rochelle
Referee: Marius Mitrea (Italy)
ARs: Andrea Piardi & Simone Boaretto (Italy)
TMO: Stefano Pennè

Bath v Benetton Treviso
Referee: Mike Adamson (Scotland)
ARs: Nigel Owens (Wales) & Sam Grove-White (Scotland)
TMO: Neil Hennessey (Wales)

Exeter Chiefs v Glasgow Warriors
Referee: Alexandre Ruiz (France)
ARs: Thomas Charabas (France) & Laurent Cardona (France)
TMO: Philip Bonhoure (France)

Castres v Munster
Referee: Matthew Carley (England)
ARs: Tim Wigglesworth (England) & Steve Lee (England)
TMO: Sean Davey (England)

Toulon v Scarlets
Referee: Luke Pearce (England)
ARs: Jack Makepeace (England) & Nigel Carrick (England)
TMO: Rowan Kitt (England)

Northampton Saints v Saracens
Referee: Pascal Gaüzère (France)
ARs: Cyril Lafon (France) & Jean-Luc Rebollal (France)
TMO: Éric Gauzins (France)

Ospreys v Clermont
Referee: Andrew Brace (Ireland)
ARs: Nigel Correll (Ireland) & Mark Patton (Ireland)
TMO: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland)


Challenge Cup, Round 1

Pau v Gloucester
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
ARs: Gary Conway (Ireland) & Chris Harrington (Ireland)
TMO: Kevin Beggs (Ireland)

Enisei-STM v Bordeaux-Bègles
Referee: Craig Maxwell-Keys (England)
ARs: Adam Leal (England) & Lionel Spooner (England)
TMO: Sean Brickell (Wales)

Cardiff Blues v Lyon
Referee: Frank Murphy (Ireland)
ARs: Leo Colgan (Ireland) & Ken Imbusch (Ireland)

Sale Sharks v Toulouse
Referee: David Wilkinson (Ireland)
ARs: Kieran Barry (Ireland) & John Carvill (Ireland)
TMO: Olly Hodges (Ireland)

Agen v Zebre
Referee: Ian Tempest (England)
ARs: Andrew Jackson (England) & John Meredith (England)

Krasny Yar v Stade Français
Referee: Ian Davies (Wales)
ARs: Craig Evans & Stuart Kibble
TMO: Sean Brickell (Wales)

Newcastle Falcons v Dragons
Referee: Pierre Brousset (France)
ARs: Tual Trainini (France) & Eric Soulan (France)

London Irish v Edinburgh
Referee: Dan Jones (Wales)
ARs: Adam Jones & Rhys Jones
TMO: Tim Hayes

Worcester Warriors v Brive
Referee: Seán Gallagher (Ireland)
ARs: Eddie Hogan O’ Connell (Ireland) & Jonathan Peak (Ireland)
TMO: Simon McDowell (Ireland)

Oyonnax v Connacht
Referee: Tom Foley (England)
ARs: Christophe Ridley (England) &Wayne Falla (England)

1 Comment

Comments are closed.