Pro14 & English Premiership returns – referee appointments

Despite the departure to the Pro14 of RFU full-time official Greg Garner, the referee line up has a familiar feel to it. There’s a blend of experiences with Wayne Barnes and JP Doyle having 316 games between them and the now well-established likes of Luke Pearce (61 games), Matthew Carley (60), Tom Foley (36) and Craig Maxwell-Keyes (34) in support too.

In the Pro14, we see the mix of old Pro12 referees being joined by the South Africans, with Quinton Immelman (pictured) taking charge of the Ospreys v Zebre on the opening weekend. 


Aviva Premiership

Gloucester v Exeter Chiefs
Referee: Matthew Carley (61st Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Paul Dix & Jonathan Healy
Television Match Official: Sean Davey

Newcastle Falcons v Worcester Warriors
Referee: Wayne Barnes (185th Premiership game)
ARs: Adam Leal & Wayne Fella
TMO: Rowan Kitt

Saracens v Northampton Saints
Referee: Craig Maxwell-Keys (35th Premiership game)
ARs: Jack Makepeace & Roy Maybank
TMO: Geoffrey Warren

Wasps v Sale Sharks
Referee: JP Doyle (133rd Premiership game)
ARs: Paul Burton & Michael Hudson
TMO: David Sainsbury

London Irish v Harlequins
Referee: Tom Foley (37th Premiership game)
ARs: Hamish Smales & Nigel Carrick
TMO: Keith Lewis

Leicester Tigers v Bath
Referee: Luke Pearce (62nd Premiership game)
ARs: Anthony Woodthorpe & Simon McConnell
TMO: Graham Hughes


Munster v Benetton Treviso
Referee: Ian Davies (Wales)
ARs: Craig Evans (Wales) & Gary Conway (Ireland)
TMO: Neil Hennessy (Wales)

Ulster v Cheetahs
Referee: Andrew Brace (Ireland)
ARs: Simon Rees (Wales) & Leo Colgan (Ireland)
TMO: John Mason (Wales)

Ospreys v Zebre
Referee: Quinton Immelman (South Africa)
ARs: Stuart Berry (South Africa) & Cwengile Jadezweni (South Africa)

Cardiff Blues v Edinburgh
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
ARs: Nigel Correll (Ireland) & Brian MacNeice (Ireland)

Connacht v Glasgow Warriors
Referee: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)
ARs: Dan Jones (Wales) & Stuart Gaffikin (Ireland)
TMO: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland)

Scarlets v Kings
Referee: Frank Murphy (Ireland)
ARs: Seán Gallagher (Ireland) & Wayne Davies (Wales)
TMO: Olly Hodges (Ireland)

Dragons v Leinster
Referee: Mike Adamson (Scotland)
ARs: Lloyd Linton (Scotland) & Stuart Kibble (Wales)
TMO: Neil Paterson (Scotland)