European Cup QF referee appointments announced

The referees, ARs and TMOs for what promises to be a high-powered series of Champions Cup and Challenge Cup quarter-final matches were announced earlier this week following the selection meeting lead by EPCR’s Head of Match Officials, Joel Jutge. The matches begin next Friday night (31st March)
The Champions Cup knockout stage will get underway at Dublin’s Aviva Stadium on Saturday, 1 April with the clash of previous tournament winners, Leinster and Wasps, which will be refereed by Nigel Owens of Wales.

Later the same day, England’s JP Doyle will take charge of another showdown between former champions when Munster take on Toulouse at Thomond Park.

On Sunday, 2 April, Jérôme Garces of France (pictured left) will be in the middle for the meeting of holders, Saracens, and knockout stage first-timers, Glasgow Warriors, while England’s Wayne Barnes has been appointed for the all-TOP 14 confrontation between number one seeds, ASM Clermont Auvergne, and RC Toulon at Stade Marcel-Michelin.


The Challenge Cup quarter-finals weekend kicks off on Friday, 31 March with the first tie between Edinburgh and La Rochelle at BT Murrayfield where England’s Luke Pearce (banner photo) will be in charge. The following day’s games between Bath and Brive, and Gloucester and Cardiff Blues, will be refereed by Italy’s Marius Mitrea and France’s Pascal Gauzere respectively.

Matthew Carley of England has been appointed for the last tie of the weekend on Sunday, 2 April between Challenge Cup number one seeds, Ospreys, and Stade Francais Paris at the Principality Stadium


Champions Cup 

Leinster v Wasps
Ref: Nigel Owens (Wal)
ARs: Romain Poite (Fra) & Ian Davies (Wal)
TMO: Jonathan Mason (Wal)

Munster v Toulouse
Ref: JP Doyle (Eng)
ARs: Greg Garner (Eng) & Craig Maxwell-Keys (Eng)
TMO: David Grashoff (Eng)

Saracens v Glasgow Warriors
Ref: Jerome Garces (Fra)
ARs: Mathieu Raynal (Fra) & Thomas Charabas (Fra)
TMO: Eric Gauzins (Fra)

ASM Clermont Auvergne v RC Toulon
Ref: Wayne Barnes (Eng)
ARs: Tom Foley (Eng) & Paul Dix (Eng)
TMO: Rowan Kitt (Eng)

Challenge Cup – Quarter Finals

Edinburgh v La Rochelle
Ref: Luke Pearce (Eng)
ARs: Ian Tempest (Eng) & Simon McConnell (Eng)
TMO: Graham Hughes (Eng)

Bath v Brive
Ref: Marius Mitrea (Ita)
ARs: Matteo Liperini (Ita) Simone Boaretto (Ita)
TMO: Stefano Penne (Ita)

Gloucester v Cardiff Blues
Ref: Pascal Gauzere (Fra)
ARs: Alexandre Ruiz (Fra) & Pierre Brousset (Fra)
TMO: Philippe Bonhoure (Fra)

Ospreys v Stade Francais Paris
Ref: Matthew Carley (Eng)
ARs: Tim Wigglesworth (Eng) & Peter Allan (Eng)
TMO: Sean Davey (Eng)