South Africa 2016 referee panels announced 

The 2016 South African referee panels have been announced by SARU. The panels are drawn up after reviews of matches during the year.

The panels are as follows:

Elite Panel
The top panel has just 10 referees. Jason Jaftha, who had serious injury problems in recent times, has dropped off this panel while Cwengile Jadezweni of Western Province has come into the panel after refereeing his first Currie Cup matches this year.

These referees are contracted to SARU (provinces mentioned for interest sake).

  • Stuart Berry (KwaZulu-Natal)
  • Rodney Boneparte (Eastern Province)
  • Quinton Immelman (Western Province)
  • Cwengile Jadezweni (Western Province)
  • Craig Joubert (KwaZulu-Natal)
  • Lesego Legoete (Golden Lions)
  • Jaco Peyper (Free State)
  • Rasta Rasivhenge (Western Province)
  • Marius van der Westhuizen (Western Province)
  • Jaco van Heerden (Blue Bulls)

National Panel

The second panel is the National Panel with 18 referees. Jadezweni has been promoted from this panel to the Elite Panel. There have been other changes, with Jaftha arriving from the Elite Panel, while Tahla Ntshakaza, Fernando Uithaler and Renier Vermeulen are no longer included.

Those promoted to the panel are Egon Seconds, once a top Super Rugby and Currie Cup wing for Western Province and the Stormers, Ruhan Meiring and Pieter Maritz.

  • Ben Crouse (Blue Bulls)
  • Stephan Geldenhuys (Blue Bulls)
  • AJ Jacobs (Griffons)
  • Jason Jaftha (South Western Districts)
  • Jaco Kotze (Free State)
  • Pieter Maritz (Blue Bulls)
  • Mpho Matsaung (Griquas)
  • Ruhan Meiring (South Western Districts)
  • Paul Mente (Leopards)
  • Vusi Msibi (KwaZulu-Natal)
  • Sindile Ngcese (Eastern Province)
  • Francois Pretorius (Western Province)
  • Jaco Pretorius (Valke)
  • Oregopotse Rametsi (Leopards)
  • Egon Seconds (Western Province)
  • Archie Sehlako (KwaZulu-Natal)
  • Ricus van der Hoven (Pumas)
  • Lourens van der Merwe (Free State)

Sevens Panel

This is a new panel. Of the referees on this panel, four are on World Rugby’s circuit – Ben Crouse, Craig Joubert, Rasta Rasivhenge and Marius van der Merwe.

  • Aimee Barrett (Western Province)
  • Ben Crouse (Blue Bulls)
  • Craig Joubert (KwaZulu-Natal)
  • Jaco Kotze (Free State)
  • Rasta Rasivhenge (Western Province)
  • Egon Seconds (Western Province)
  • Marius van der Westhuizen (Western Province)

Women’s Panel

There are eight referees on this panel. Of them, Mariandi Janse van Vuuren and Bulela Qwane are new to the panel, while Henchalla Oerson is no longer refereeing.

  • Aimee Barrett (Western Province)
  • Larentia Fred (South Western Districts)
  • Mariandi Janse van Vuuren (Free State)
  • Siyanda Belinda Ketse (Free State)
  • Motshidisi Maria Mabote (Griffons)
  • Le-Ann MacClune (South Western Districts)
  • Ashleigh Murray (Golden Lions)
  • Bulela Qwane (Western Province)

TMO Panel

  • Christie Du Preez (Eastern Province)
  • Johan Greeff (Blue Bulls)
  • Marius Jonker (KwaZulu-Natal)
  • Shaun Veldsman (Boland)
  • Willie Vos (Golden Lions)
  • JJ Wagner (Griquas)


Rassie Erasmus replaces Neville Heilbron.

  • Rassie Erasmus
  • Dennis Immelman
  • Mark Lawrence
  • Balie Swart
  • Deon van Blommestein
  • Banks Yantolo

Performance Reviewers/Assessors

  • Keith Hendricks (Boland)
  • Jacques Hugo (Eastern Province)
  • Dennis Immelman (Western Province)
  • Thuso Mngqibisa (Western Province)
  • Pierre Oelofse (Valke)
  • Willie Roos (Valke)
  • Kim Smit (Pumas)
  • Deon van Blommestein (Western Province)
  • Banks Yantolo (Border)

Coaching a Academy Coaches/Scouting

  • Eugene Daniel – Manager Academy Squad
  • Philip du Toit – Referee Academy Manager, North/ Central
  • Abe Steenberg – Referee Academy Manager, South
  • Fumanekile Yamile – Referee Academy Manager, East
  • Johan Zurich – Referee Academy Manager, North

Female Referee’s Coaches

  • Philip du Toit
  • Neville Heilbron
  • Rupert Jacobs
  • Kim Smit
  • Abe Steenberg
  • Fumanekile Yamile
  • Johan Zurich