World Rugby law ruling – ending the game

New from World Rugby following the end of the Scotland v Wales 6 Nations game where the  referee, Glen Jackson, blew for full time as time had expired following the conversion, but before the restart could occur.

So now we have clarity, but what is interesting to note is that this request appears to have come from the Head of WR Referees, Joel Jutge, not a Member Union as is usually the case. This shows to us at RR.net just how difficult the Law Book can be to figure out.  It wasn’t clear before, but it now is, so well done WR for clearing things up.

 

Clarification 1 – 2015
Union/ HP Ref Manager – Joel Jutge
Law Reference – Law 5
Date – 23 February 2015

Request
Following controversy after the Scotland v Wales game regarding the decision by the referee to blow the whistle for the end of the match, we would like a clarification in Law.

Scenario 1

A try is scored in the last minute of a game. The conversion is kicked and after the kick, there is between 5-10 seconds left on the clock, i.e. 79:50.

Question:
Does the referee allow for a restart to be made or does he blow the whistle for the end of the match, when the clock shows 80 (i.e. 40 minutes)? There are a set of Law variations for Sevens which are different. In this specific case, why not consider the application of the Sevens variation which is clearer and could avoid such controversy?

Law for fifteen-a-side:
5.7 (e) “If time expires and the ball is not dead, or an awarded scrum or lineout has not been completed, the referee allows play to continue until the next time that the ball becomes dead. The ball becomes dead when the referee would have awarded a scrum, lineout, an option to the non-infringing team, drop out or after a conversion or successful penalty kick at goal. If a scrum has to be reset, the scrum has not been completed. If time expires and a mark, free kick or penalty kick is then awarded, the referee allows play to continue.
(f) If time expires after a try has been scored the referee allows time for the conversion kick to be taken.”
Variation for Seven-a-side – in practice:
The team scoring a try within the last 40 seconds may however take the kick or not and, providing they decline the kick or take the kick with time remaining, a restart will occur and the match will end at the next stoppage within Law. Time is taken from the strike on the ball.

Scenario 2
Can the same logic be applied to a penalty award at the end of the game, e.g. what happens if a penalty is awarded at 79:50 and the team wants to kick to touch and take a lineout?

 

Clarification of the Designated Members of the Rugby Committee
Scenario 1
A team scoring a try near the end of the match may take the conversion kick or not. Providing they decline to take the kick or take the kick within the time remaining, a restart will occur and the match will end at the next stoppage within Law. Time is taken from the strike on the ball.
In the specific query where the conversion was kicked at 79:50 then the referee should allow for a restart.

Scenario 2
The same logic applies, i.e. as long as the penalty kick is taken before 80:00 then the lineout will take place and the match will end at the next stoppage within Law. Time is taken from the strike on the ball.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*