Fiji’s top rugby referee targets RWC 7s’S top rugby whistleman James Bolabiu [pictured right] is hopeful of securing one of the 10 spots to officiate at the 2013 Rugby World Cup 7s in Russia.

Bolabiu is Fiji’s most decorated rugby referee having officiated in the 2008 Tri Nations, 2008 IRB Junior World Championship, the South African Currie Cup and the IRB Sevens World Series.

The 29-year old-will be travelling to Australia this week to officiate in the 2013 Pacific Rugby Cup.

Bolabiu said he was looking forward to the next challenge.

He said with the RWC 7s being the last in Moscow, the event would be one to cherish for a life time.

“The selections for the RWC 7s will be done at the end of this month,” Bolabiu said.

“It will be after the Japan 7s and I’m positive of what is going to come at the end of this month. Whatever opportunity I get I will take.

“I’m well prepared and I want to officiate in the RWC 7s. The best 10 referees will be selected. I have never officiated in a RWC 7s.

“I think I will get my opportunity this time. It will be a dream come true.

“In Russia there isn’t much international matches played. So this RWC 7s is the biggest.

“It will also be the last RWC 7s so it will be a memory that will last forever.”

Bolabiu said he was well versed with the new law amendments that were being tested during the PRC.

“I will be travelling to Australia next week to officiate in the PRC,” Bolabiu said.

“I will officiate the games for Tonga and Samoa. I’m well versed with the new law amendments that will be on trial at the PRC.

“It is mostly to deal with the scrum.”

The 2013 PRC will provide the backdrop for a revised scrum engagement trial, underpinning the IRB and its member unions’ ongoing commitment to improving issues currently associated with the scrum in elite rugby while promoting the best-possible player welfare standards.

The “crouch”, “touch”, “set” engagement calls currently being trialled globally are maintained within the PRC trial but in a revision to the technique of engagement, props will be expected to bind using their outside arm after the referee has called “touch” in the sequence.

The front rows will maintain the bid and the referee will then call “set” and the two packs will be permitted to engage. In this sequence, with the props bound, the “set” call is not a command to engage, but an instruction that the front rows may come together when ready.