ARU unveil 2013 National Panel of referees

26 Nov 2012

Australia have announced their national squad of referees for 2013. There are two new referees in the squad;Graham Cooper and Michael Hogan.

Also in the squad is the Australian who played for Portugal and started refereeing there before returning to Australia – Rohan Hoffman.

Matt O’Brien, who is part of the IRB’s Sevens circuit, is the son of Paddy O’Brien. Anthony Moyes is also on the Sevens circuit.

By far the most experienced member of the squad is Steve Walsh. He is the only Australian referee on the IRB’s merit panel.

Andrew Cole, the ARU National Referee Coach states that “There has been some changes for 2013 and while it’s exciting times for all, particularly to the debutants, Graham and Michael, congratulations to them on earning their opportunity, and welcome, we know that you will bring enthusiasm and healthy competition.”

The full list of the Australian referee squad for 2013 is as follows:

Australian National Referees squad: Graham Cooper, Angus Gardner, Richard Goswell, Rohan Hoffmann, Michael Hogan, Will Houston, James Leckie, Andrew Lees, Ed Martin, Damien Mitchelmore, Anthony Moyes, Matt O’Brien, Ian Smith, Steve Walsh

TMOs: George Ayoub, Matt Goddard, Steve Lesczcynski

Referee coaches: Andrew Cole, Wayne Erickson, Scott Young, Michael Tanzer, John McCarthy